Short Header Sels


Annual Conference

The Ninth Conference on Empirical Legal Studies will be held November 7-8, 2014, in Berkeley, California at the University of California at Berkeley, Boalt Hall Law School.

2014 Conference Co-Presidents

Eric Talley
Anne Joseph O'Connell

More CELS 2014 Information Here

Register for 2014 Conference Here

CELS Poster Award Winners

CELS 2013 Poster Winners

Megan S. Wright, Samantha Kluth, and Dana Dobbins, "Mock Jurors' Assessments of Blind Experts in Criminal Trials". Poster here. Paper here.

CELS 2012 Poster Winner

Yilian Xu, "Does Mortgage Deregulation Increase Foreclosures?: Evidence from Cleveland". Poster here. Paper here.

CELS 2011 Poster Winner

Yun-Chien Chang, "Tenancy in 'Anticommons'? A Theoretical and Empirical Analysis of Co-Ownership". Poster here. Paper here.

Conference History

The annual Conferences on Empirical Legal Studies (CELS) were launched in 2006, in response to the growing level of empirical scholarship in law schools and elsewhere. It has thus far been held at University of Texas (2006), NYU (2007), Cornell (2008), USC (2009), Yale (2010),  Northwestern (2011), and Stanford (2012), and is scheduled for Penn (2013), UC Berkeley (2014), and Washington University School of Law in St. Louis (2015) in each case with generous support from the host school.

The founding organizers of CELS are Bernie Black (Northwestern), Jennifer Arlen and Geoffrey Miller (NYU), and Ted Eisenberg and Michael Heise (Cornell).