Clarke Business Law Banner Short
Transactional Lawyering Competition

In addition to Cornell Law School's core business law curriculum, the BLI is introducing students to a different way of thinking about deals and lawyering in an effort to expand their practical skills.

Each year, the Law School hosts the Transactional Lawyering Competition, essentially a "moot court for deal lawyers," and the only intramural competition of its kind. Student teams of two lawyers each represent buyers and sellers of a hotel/resort property in the Finger Lakes Region. Students are judged on the basis of their "mark-up" of a modified asset purchase agreement and their ability to negotiate effectively on behalf of their respective clients. Winners of that competition then represent Cornell at a national competition.  The 2013 competition was held November 9-10 at Myron Taylor Hall. 

In November 2013, 60 students competed in the fourth annual competition.

Our alumni judges for 2013 were:

John Alexander ‘71 (Sayles & Evans)
John Altorelli ’93 (DLA Piper)
David Barrie '78 (MFRI, Inc.)
David Boehnen '71 (Dorsey and Whitney LLP)
John Calandra '91 (McDermott Will & Emery)
Robert Davis '78 (Cleary, Gottlieb, Steen and Hamilton LLP)
Jacqueline Duval '92 (Ziff Legal Group)
Robert Feiner '85 (Feiner Wolfson)
Todd Feinsmith ’91 (Pepper Hamilton)
Dean Fournaris  '91 (Wiggins and Dana)
Ashley Gillespie  '01 (Morgan Stanley)
Joel Hartstone ‘70 (Stonegate Capital Group)
William Haubert  '91 (Richards Layton & Finger)
Denise Hauselt ’83 (Corning Incorporated)
James Hill ’91 (Morgan Stanley)
Adele Hogan AB A&S '82, JD '85, (Sheppard, Mullin, Richter and Hampton LLP)
Jim Kaput '86 (Zebra Technologies)
Robert Lee '81 (Wells Fargo & Co.)
Andrianne Payson Livingston '00 (DLA Piper)
Thomas Malone '05 (Latham & Watkins LLP)
Stephen Maloy '86 (Jincheng Tongda and Neal)
Ira Marcus ‘74 (Marcus, Brody, Ford & Kessler)
Harry Messina '59 Woods, (Oviatt Gilman LLP)
Raymond Minella ’74 (Cornell Law School)
Dale Okonow ‘83 (The Watermill Group)
Philippe Pradal (Cornell Law School)
Rebecca Prentice '82 (Paramount Pictures)
J. Brett Pritchard '90 (Bissel and Brook LLP)
Jay Rakow '79 (Pacific Capital)
Elke Rehbock '04 (Greenberg Taurig LLP)
Jeff Ross '99 (Debevoise & Plimpton)
Mack Rossoff (Rossoff & Co., LLC)
Ira Roxland '67 (Retired - Dentons)
Andy Stamelman '83 (Riker Danzig Scherer Hyland & Perretti)
Alan Tessler '58 (International Financial Group Inc.)
Sara Werner BS A&S '02 (Denton's US LLP)