Wilma Liebman Senior Lecturer of Law (Fall term)

Contact Information

Cornell Law School
Myron Taylor Hall
Ithaca, NY 14853-4901

Fax: (607) 255-7193
Email: wbl32@cornell.edu

Professional Biography

President Obama designated Wilma B. Liebman to be chairman of the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) on January 20, 2009. She served as chairman until August 27, 2011, when her third term expired.Ms. Liebman served as a member of the NLRB from November 14, 1997. She was first appointed by President Clinton and confirmed by the Senate to a five-year term that expired on December 16, 2002. She was reappointed by President Bush and confirmed by the Senate to a second term that expired on August 27, 2006. She was again reappointed by President Bush and confirmed by the Senate to a third term that expired on August 27, 2011. She was the third longest serving member of the NLRB in its 76 year history.Prior to joining the NLRB, Ms. Liebman served for two years as deputy director of the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service (FMCS). She acted as the chief operations officer of this federal agency, overseeing arbitration, alternative dispute resolution, international affairs and labor-management cooperation grants programs. In addition, Ms. Liebman advised the FMCS director on issues involving major labor disputes and participated in significant negotiations as needed.From 1994-96, Ms. Liebman served as special assistant to the director of FMCS. In this role, she was a key member of the Mediator Task Force on the Future of FMCS, an 18-member employee group charged with articulating a vision and recommendations to lead the Agency into the 21st century.Prior to joining FMCS in January 1994, Ms. Liebman was labor counsel for the Bricklayers and Allied Craftsmen from 1990 through 1993. She served as legal counsel to the International Brotherhood of Teamsters for nine years and as staff attorney with the NLRB from 1974-80.Ms. Liebman is a fellow of The College of Labor and Employment Lawyers, the American Law Institute, and past elected member of the Executive Board of the Industrial Relations Research Association.