13th Annual Alumni Exemplary Public Service Awards

Friday, February 16, 2018
New York, NY
Open To:
Alumni, Faculty and Students
Law School Alumni Affairs

Cornell Law School and the Cornell Law School Alumni Association Present
The 13th Annual Alumni Exemplary Public Service Awards

Friday, February 16, 2018
6:00 pm Reception / 7:00 pm Program
Association of the Bar of the City of New York
42 West 44th Street
New York, NY
Join us at the New York City Bar Association for a reception at 6:00pm and a ceremony at 7:00pm. Along with honoring our alumni award-winners, we will recognize graduates from the class of 2018 who have been selected to receive Public Interest Graduation Prizes.
This event is free of charge. We do however need your committed reservation.
Please Register ONLINE or by calling the Alumni Affairs Office at 607-255-5251 by Friday, February 9, 2018.
See Who's Coming
2018 Alumni Award Recipients

  • Deborah B. Agus, JD ‘79
    Executive Director, Behavioral Health Leadership Institute - Baltimore, MD
  • David Kagle, JD ‘08
    Staff Attorney, Legal Assistance of Western New York, Bath Office - Bath, NY
  • Ryan N. Norwood, JD ‘02
    Assistant Federal Public Defender, Federal Public Defender, District of Nevada - Las Vegas, NV
  • Cheyenne A. Sanders, JD ’14 (Rising Star Award)
    Deputy General Counsel, Yurok Tribe - Klamath, CA
  • Daniel L. Sosland, JD ‘85
    President, Acadia Center - Rockport ME
  • Quinten Steenhuis, JD ‘08
    Senior Attorney, Greater Boston Legal Services - Boston, MA
Student Public Interest Prizes

Freeman Award for Civil-Human Rights
Awarded annually to the law student or students who have made the greatest contributions during his or her law school career to civil-human rights: Aaron Smith, Dara Brown, Rosa Cortez
Stanley E. Gould Prize for Public Interest Law
Awarded annually to a third year student or students who have shown outstanding dedication to serving public interest law and public interest groups: Kara Goad, Laurel Hopkins, Karen Smeda
Seymour Herzog Memorial Prize
Awarded annually to a student or students who demonstrate excellence in the law and commitment to public interest law, combined with a love of sports: McCahey Townsend, Daniel Nesbitt