Or search: cornell.edu
Alumni and Students Honored at 14th Annual Public Service Awards

2019 Cornell Law Public Service Award recipients, honored for their outstanding dedication to public interest law.


On February 8, 2019, members of the Cornell Law community convened at the Association of the Bar of New York to celebrate the 14th Annual Public Service Awards. This year, eight current Law School students and six alumni were honored for their outstanding dedication to public interest law.

Candidates for the awards are nominated by Law School alumni, faculty, and administrators, and are reviewed by the Faculty-Student Public Service Committee.

“This is one of my favorite events of the year. Recognizing Cornell Law School alumni and students who are doing needed public service work is such an honor.” says Akua Akyea, Assistant Dean for Public Service.

The alumni awardees, listed below, represent a range of graduation years and specializations. Brian Morgan ’93, winner of the Pro Bono Award, has spent years improving the lives of at-risk youth.  Jessica Hittelman Lopez ’13, the Rising Star Award winner, has served fearlessly to ensure that youth affected by the criminal justice system have opportunities to reclaim lives of dignity.

The work of other alumni honorees includes directing an organization that provides affordable housing and emergency shelter, researching how the U.S. criminal justice system interacts with new systems of transnational and international criminal law, and representing clients that are victims of domestic violence.

“There is a great spirit of community and support at this event. These are individuals who are doing the work of their heart, not for acknowledgement but because they truly believe in it,” says Akyea. “I am humbled by their dedication and service.”



Diane L. Campbell ’98, Supervising Attorney, Legal Assistance of Western New York, Ithaca, New York

Earl A. Kirkland III ’13, John Payton Appellate and Supreme Court Advocacy Fellow, NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, New York, New York

Steven A. Koh ’08, Associate in Law, Columbia Law School, New York, New York

Jessica Hittelman Lopez ’13, Staff Attorney, Youth Represent, New York, New York

Andrew D. Miller ’90, Executive Director, Human Solutions, Portland, Oregon

Brian P. Morgan ’93, Senior Attorney, Litigation Department, Paul Hastings, LLP, New York, New York



Freeman Award for Civil-Human RightsAwarded annually to the law student or students who have made the greatest contributions during his or her law school career to civil-human rights: Shelby Garland ’19, Joon Lee ’19, Lindsey Ruff ’19

Stanley E. Gould Prize for Public Interest LawAwarded annually to a third-year student or students who have shown outstanding dedication to serving public interest law and public interest groups: Alicia Arman ’19, Matthew Lutwen ’19, Mary-Kathryn Smith ’19

Seymour Herzog Memorial PrizeAwarded annually to a student or students who demonstrate excellence in the law and commitment to public interest law, combined with a love of sports: Avery Cummings ’19, Robert Hendricks ’19

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it.