Or search: cornell.edu
Sherry Colb Receives Anne Lukingbeal Award

On Tuesday, April 24, members of the Cornell Law community gathered in the Berger Atrium to honor Sherry Colb, Professor of Law and Charles Evans Hughes Scholar, as she received the 14th Annual Anne Lukingbeal Award. Toasted by the Women’s Law Coalition, along with current students and research assistants, Colb remarked, “This is so cool.”

Sherry Colb speaking with members of the audience

Named after its first recipient, Associate Dean and Dean of Students Anne Lukingbeal, the award is presented to a member of the faculty or staff who has demonstrated an outstanding commitment to the women of Cornell. The Women’s Law Coalition, a student organization that advocates for women at the Law School and in the legal profession through educational outreach and philanthropic activities, established the award in 1999. Past recipients include Professor Sheri Lynn Johnson, Professor Bernadette Meyler, Vice Dean and Professor Barbara Holden-Smith, and Assistant Dean Karen Comstock.

“I am thrilled to be receiving the Anne Lukingbeal award from the students here at Cornell Law School,” says Colb. “I wish I could give the students a similar award. Cornell Law students have impressed me enormously with their willingness to work extremely hard and to engage in highly intellectual but simultaneously respectful exchanges of ideas with their teachers and with one another. I am proud to be part of the privileged group of people who can study with and learn from such a remarkable group of young professionals, each of whom embodies the school’s aspiration for ‘lawyers in the best sense.’”

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it.