Cornell Law School Office of Public Service Short

2018 Alumni Exemplary Public Service Award

Awards Ceremony: Friday, February 16, 2018

To register for the event, click here

Alumni Awardees

Deborah Agus ‘79
Executive Director, Behavioral Health Leadership Institute – Baltimore, MD

David Kagle ‘08
Staff Attorney, Legal Assistance of Western New York, Bath Office – Bath, NY

Ryan Norwood ‘02
Assistant Federal Public Defender, Federal Public Defender, District of Nevada – Las Vegas, NV

Cheyenne Sanders ‘14 (Rising Star Award)
Deputy General Counsel, Yurok Tribe – Klamath, CA

Daniel Sosland ’85 (Rising Star Award)
President, Acadia Center – Rockport ME

Quinten Steenhuis ‘08
Senior Attorney, Greater Boston Legal Services – Boston, MA


Student Public Interest Prize-Winners
(all class of 2018)

Freeman Award for Civil-Human Rights
Awarded annually to the law student or students who have made the greatest contributions during his or her law school career to civil-human rights: Aaron Smith, Dara Brown, Rosa Cortez

Stanley E. Gould Prize for Public Interest Law
Awarded annually to a third year student or students who have shown outstanding dedication to serving public interest law and public interest groups:  Kara Goad, Laurel Hopkins, Karen Smeda

Seymour Herzog Memorial Prize
Awarded annually to a student or students who demonstrate excellence in the law and commitment to public interest law, combined with a love of sports: McCahey Townsend, Daniel Nesbitt