International Short Banner

University of Pretoria

Pretoria, South AfricaCornell may sent up to four students the University of Pretoria.  Spring placements are available for 2Ls only.


The University of Pretoria ("UP") is the leading research university in South Africa and one of the largest in the country. The University has seven campuses as well as a number of other sites of operation, such as the Pretoria Academic Hospital. UP celebrated its Centenary in 2008.  The University of Pretoria offers more than 1,800 academic programmes in two of the official languages, namely Afrikaans and English (some programmes and modules are offered only in English).

The Faculty of Law at the University of Pretoria ranks amongst the top law faculties in South Africa and is one of the most sought-after law faculties in the country by students and prospective employers. The Faculty is home to 60 dedicated full-time academics, half of which have doctoral degrees in various fields of law. These academics are supported by highly motivated administrative and support staff. Together they serve the student community and the public at large. The Faculty of Law is located at the Hatfield Campus of University of Pretoria.

The academic staff of the Faculty has contributed significantly to the development of various fields of law over the years and is responsible for a substantial number of textbooks that cover a wide range of topics. At present the Faculty boasts 16 NRF-rated researchers. It is imperative that the members of the Faculty continue to contribute to legal scholarship - also by assisting in the development of emerging areas of the law.

Language of Instruction:


Academic Calendar:Spring Term: Early January - Late June
Fall Term: Mid-July - Early December

Further Information:

Interested students should consult the Pretoria Law School website for more details.