Cornell Law School Office of Public Service Short

Alumni and Students Honored at Eighth Annual Public Service Awards

NEW YORK, March 22, 2013

On February 22, members of the Cornell Law community convened at the Association of the Bar of New York to celebrate the Eighth Annual Public Service Awards. This year sixteen current Law School students and eight alumni were honored for their outstanding dedication to public interest law.

Gallery Image

Award attendee smiling. Award attendees smiling, along with Elizabeth Peck Public Service Award winners Public Service Award winners Public Service Award winner at podium Anne Lukingbeal with Award Winner Anne Lukingbeal with Award Winner Karen Comstock with Award Winner Award winner Angela Cornell with Award Winner Public Service Award winner 2013 PS Awards 13 Public Service Award winners

Candidates for the awards are nominated by Law School alumni, faculty, and administrators and reviewed by the Public Service Committee. “Every year I am just stunned by the level of commitment among the recipients,” says Karen Comstock, Assistant Dean for Public Service.

Rising Star Award recipient Bryn Lovejoy-Grinnell ’08, Senior Attorney with Hiscock Legal Aid in Syracuse, supported victims of domestic violence at the Advocacy Center of Tompkins County and served as a Commissioner with the Human Rights Commission of Tompkins County even before she began law school. Posthumous recipient Hon. Robert Boochever ’41, the first Alaskan appointed to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, was deeply involved in the development of the state of Alaska, where he served as a U.S. attorney while it was still a territory.

The work of other alumni honorees includes litigating for stronger regulation of air pollution, suing scam artists who prey on those in debt, advocating for people with disabilities, protecting the rights of the accused, investigating unfair labor practices, and providing legal services and advocacy training to low income people living with HIV/AIDS.

“Every one of the honorees has such humility,” says Comstock. “They think it’s wonderful to receive an award simply for doing what they love.”


  • David Baron '77, Managing Attorney, Earthjustice, Washington, DC
  • Hon. Robert Boochever '41 (posthumous), U.S. Court of Appeals, 9th Circuit, Pasadena, CA
  • Eve Hill '89, Senior Counselor to the Assistant Attorney General, U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division, Washington, DC
  • Keisha Hudson '03, Assistant Federal Defender, Federal Community Defender, Capital Habeas Unit, Philadelphia, PA
  • Bryn Lovejoy-Grinnell '08 (rising star), Senior Attorney, Hiscock Legal Aid, Syracuse, NY
  • Cristina Velez '02, Supervising Attorney, HIV Law Project, New York, NY
  • Dennis Walsh '83, Deputy General Counsel, Federal Labor Relations Authority, Washington, DC
  • Wendy Weinberg '84, Enforcement Attorney, Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Washington, DC


Freeman Award for Civil-Human Rights

Awarded annually to the law student or students who have made the greatest contributions during his or her law school career to civil-human rights: Genevieve Ballinger, Ian Brekke, Courtney Finerty, Ashley McGovern, James Rumpf, Emma Steine, Jefferson Yi

Stanley E. Gould Prize for Public Interest Law

Awarded annually to a third-year student or students who have shown outstanding dedication to serving public interest law and public interest groups: Cheryl Blake, Meghan Bowman, Lauren Humphrey, Jocelyn Krieger, Nathanael Miller, Lisa Schmidt

Seymour Herzog Memorial Prize

Awarded annually to a student or students who demonstrate excellence in the law and commitment to public interest law, combined with a love of sports: Lucas McNamara, Daniel Rosenberg, Sergio Rudin